The Kolber Lab | Duquesne University

Staff & Students

Ben Kolber

Benedict Kolber, Ph.D.
kolberb@duq.edu

Full Kolber CV

Ben Kolber serves as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and the Research and Education Coordinator for the Chronic Pain Research Consortium. Dr. Kolber came to Duquesne in 2011 from Washington University in St. Louis. Dr. Kolber has over 10 years experience doing neuroscience research.

His graduate work with Dr. Louis Muglia, M.D., Ph.D. looked at the role of the endocrine stress response in the modulation of stress adaptation, depression, and anxiety. His post-doctoral work with Dr. Robert Gereau IV, Ph.D. focused on understanding the role of the amygdala in the modulation of acute and chronic pain. Dr. Kolber also has extensive experience teaching at the undergraduate and graduate level. His teaching interests focus on teaching neuroscience, endocrinology, physiology, and in utilizing innovative teaching techniques in the classroom.

Professional Affiliations

In his spare time, Dr. Kolber likes to do home repairs and read books that contain indexes (i.e. non-fiction).

Kate Sadler

Kate Sadler
sadlerk@duq.edu

Kate is a graduate student in Duquesne's biology Ph.D. program and joined the lab in January, 2012. She received a B.S. in Biochemistry from the University of Pittsburgh, Greensburg.

Neil

Neil Lax
laxn@duq.edu

Neil is a graduate student in Duquesne's biology Ph.D. program and rotated through the lab in the Fall of 2012 before joining the lab full-time in April, 2013. He received a B.S. in Chemistry, Ecology, and Evolution at the University of Pittsburgh. In his spare time he enjoys being outdoors, gardening, and bird-watching.

Vishnu

Vishnu Rahul Kannan
rahulkannanv@duq.edu

Vishnu is a graduate student in Duquesne's Biotechnology M.S. program and joined the lab in March, 2014. She received a B.Technology in Electronics and Instrumentation at Amrita University, India.

name

Christopher Ignatz
Ignatzc@duq.edu

Chris is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and joined the lab in February 2012. He has completed one half and one full marathon, and although he enjoys exercising and working out, his claim to fame at Duquesne is that he has eaten 5.5 pounds of spaghetti in a single sitting. Thus, he lived up to his longtime nickname of "Chubbz."

name

Rani Rajaram
rajaramb@duq.edu

Rani is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and joined the lab in January 2013. Apart from science, she has a passion for dance, which she has been doing for over 12 years.

name

Austin Ramsey
ramseya@duq.edu

Austin is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Psychology department and joined the lab in December 2013. He is passionate about wearing hats.

name

Allison Trouten
troutena@duq.edu

Allison is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and joined the lab in January 2014. She is passionate about fitness and singing.

name

Melissa Wolz
wolzm@duq.edu

Missy is an undergrade student in Duquesne's Biology department and joined the lab in May 2013. She enjoys horseback riding, fox hunting, and playing the saxophone.

name

Devon Burkholder
burkholderd@duq.edu

Devon is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and worked in the lab from September 2012 to April 2013.

name

David George
georged@duq.edu

David was an undergraduate in Duquesne's Pre-Med and Biology programs. He worked in the lab from January 2012 to May 2013 when he graduated with a B.S. in Biology.

name

Mary Kimmel
kimmelm@duq.edu

Mary is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Pharmacy School. She worked in the lab from September 2012 until November 2013. Her hobbies include competitive horseback riding, dance, powerlifting, painting, and 5K events.

name

Caela Long
clong2@swarthmore.edu

Caela is an undergraduate student from Swarthmore College and worked in the lab May-July 2013 for the Summer Undergraduate Research Program. Her hobbies include soccer and volunteering with special needs children.

Muz Saleem

Muzamil Saleem
saleemm@duq.edu

Muzamil is a graduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and rotated in the lab Spring 2013. Muz received a B.Sc. in Clinical Sciences from King's College, London and a M.Sc. in Neuroscience from the Institute of Psychiatry, King's College, London. He is currently a Ph.D. student in the laboratory of Dr. John Pollock.

Jarred

Jarred Stratton
strattonj@duq.edu

Jarred was an undergrade student in Duquesne's Biology program. He worked in the lab from December 2011 to December 2013 when he graduated with a B.S. in Biology.

name

Nick Verna
vernan@duq.edu

Nick is an undergrade student in Duquesne's Biology department and worked in the lab from May 2013 to August 2013. He enjoys watching movies and bouldering.