The Kolber Lab | Duquesne University

Staff & Students

Ben Kolber

Benedict Kolber, Ph.D.
kolberb@duq.edu

Full Kolber CV

Ben Kolber serves as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Biological Sciences and the Research and Education Coordinator for the Chronic Pain Research Consortium. Dr. Kolber came to Duquesne in 2011 from Washington University in St. Louis. Dr. Kolber has over 10 years experience doing neuroscience research.

His graduate work with Dr. Louis Muglia, M.D., Ph.D. looked at the role of the endocrine stress response in the modulation of stress adaptation, depression, and anxiety. His post-doctoral work with Dr. Robert Gereau IV, Ph.D. focused on understanding the role of the amygdala in the modulation of acute and chronic pain. Dr. Kolber also has extensive experience teaching at the undergraduate and graduate level. His teaching interests focus on teaching neuroscience, endocrinology, physiology, and in utilizing innovative teaching techniques in the classroom.

Professional Affiliations

In his spare time, Dr. Kolber likes to do home repairs and read books that contain indexes (i.e. non-fiction).

Kate Sadler

Kate Sadler
sadlerk@duq.edu

Kate is a graduate student in Duquesne's biology Ph.D. program and joined the lab in January 2012. She received a B.S. in Biology from the University of Pittsburgh, Greensburg. In her spare time, Kate loves to bake delicious treats.

Neil

Neil Lax
laxn@duq.edu

Neil is a graduate student in Duquesne's biology Ph.D. program and rotated through the lab in the Fall of 2012 before joining the lab full-time in April 2013. He received a B.S. in Chemistry, Ecology, and Evolution at the University of Pittsburgh. In his spare time he enjoys being outdoors, gardening, and bird-watching.

Neal

Neal McQuaid
mcquaidn@duq.edu

Neal is a graduate student in Duquesne's biotechnology M.S. program and joined the lab in December 2014. He received a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering with a concentration in Biomedical Engineering from the University of Colorado Boulder. In his spare time he works 24-hour monster shifts as a certified flight paramedic.

Vishnu

Anna Polaski
polaskia@duq.edu

Anna is a graduate student in Duquesne's biology Ph.D. program and rotated in the lab Fall 2014 before joining the lab full-time in April 2015. She received a B.S. in Biology from Mercyhurst University in Erie, PA. She ran crosscountry at Mercyhurst and is the undisputed running champion of the lab.

name

Adriana Gulli
gullia@duq.edu

Adriana is a high school student at Allderdice High School in Pittsburgh. She began working in the lab in December 2014.

name

Edward Hilton
hiltone@duq.edu

Eddie is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biochemistry program. He began working in the lab in May 2014 as part of the inaugural Pain Undergraduate Research Experience program.

name

Kara Jones
jonesk6@duq.edu

Kara is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology program. She began working in the lab in January 2015. She enjoys blazing new hiking trails with her dog.

name

Caela Long
clong2@swarthmore.edu

Caela is an undergraduate student from Swarthmore College and started working in the lab Summer 2013 for the Summer Undergraduate Research Program. Her hobbies include soccer and volunteering with special needs children.

name

Zach Resko
reskoz@duq.edu

Zach is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and joined the lab in August 2014. He likes weightlifting and lacrosse but not necessarily at the same time.

name

Allison Trouten
troutena@duq.edu

Allison is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and joined the lab in January 2014. She is passionate about fitness and singing.

name

Devon Burkholder
burkholderd@duq.edu

Devon was an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and worked in the lab from September 2012 to April 2013.

name

Antoinette Frye
fryea@duq.edu

Antoinette is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Psychology Department. She worked in the lab in May 2014 to August 2014.

name

David George
georged@duq.edu

David was an undergraduate in Duquesne's Pre-Med and Biology programs. He worked in the lab from January 2012 to May 2013 when he graduated with a B.S. in Biology. While at Duquesne, David was an Undergraduate Research Program fellow.

name

Christopher Ignatz
Ignatzc@duq.edu

Chris was an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department, worked in the lab February 2012 to May 2014 when he graduated with a B.S. in Biology. While at Duquesne, he was an Undergraduate Research Program fellow, received a Tri-Beta Research grant and won the John C. Johnson Award for Excellence in Student Research. He is currently a Medical Student at LECOM.

Vishnu

Vishnu Rahul Kannan
rahulkannanv@duq.edu

Vishnu is a graduate student in Duquesne's Biotechnology M.S. program and worked in the lab from March to August 2014. She received a B.Technology in Electronics and Instrumentation at Amrita University, India.

name

Mary Kimmel
kimmelm@duq.edu

Mary is an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Pharmacy School. She worked in the lab from September 2012 until November 2013. Her hobbies include competitive horseback riding, dance, powerlifting, painting, and 5K events.

name

Rani Rajaram
rajaramb@duq.edu

Rani was an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and worked in the lab January 2013 to May 2015 before graduating with a B.S. in Biology. While at Duquesne, she was an Undergraduate Research Program fellow. She is currently a medical student at Temple University.

name

Austin Ramsey
ramseya@duq.edu

Austin was an undergraduate student in Duquesne's Psychology department and worked in the lab from September 2013 to December 2014 when he graduate with a B.S. in Psychology (minor in Biology). While at Duquesne, he received a Irene and Eric Simon Brain Research Foundation summer research grant. He is currently applying for graduate studies in Neuroscience.

Muz Saleem

Muzamil Saleem
saleemm@duq.edu

Muzamil is a graduate student in Duquesne's Biology department and rotated in the lab Spring 2013. Muz received a B.Sc. in Clinical Sciences from King's College, London and a M.Sc. in Neuroscience from the Institute of Psychiatry, King's College, London. He is currently a Ph.D. student in the laboratory of Dr. John Pollock.

Jarred

Jarred Stratton
strattonj@duq.edu

Jarred was an undergrade student in Duquesne's Biology program. He worked in the lab from December 2011 to December 2013 when he graduated with a B.S. in Biology. While at Duquesne, he was an Undergraduate Research Program fellow and was an American Physiological Society Summer Undergraduate Research Fellow. He is currently a Ph.D. student in Neuroscience at Thomas Jefferson University.

name

Melissa Wolz
wolzm@duq.edu

Missy was an undergrade student in Duquesne's Biology department and worked in the lab May 2013 to May 2015 when she graduate with a B.S. in Biology. She is currently a medical student at West Virginia University.

name

Nick Verna
vernan@duq.edu

Nick is an undergrade student in Duquesne's Biology department and worked in the lab from May 2013 to August 2013. He enjoys watching movies and bouldering.